At Mississippi Barber Academy, students in our Barber Instructor 1000 course are taught the latest entry-level methods of teaching and preparation of practical and academic classes. Students must also learn record keeping and school administration. Upon licensing, an instructor may work as an instructor in any Mississippi state licensed school and/or instruct in seminars, workshops, conventions as well as continuing educational classes.
8 months of continuous training is required which will consist of a maximum of 30 hrs. per week. There shall be a minimum total accumulation of 1000 (clock) hours.
Course of Study
- Observation Academic and Skill
- The Professional Teacher
- Student Motivation and Learning
- Testing and Evaluation
- Method’s, Management and Materials
- Barber Law, Rules, and Regulations
Students must successfully complete 1000 hours as designated by the Mississippi State Board of Barber Examiners, complete all assigned credits, complete all assigned projects, pass all tests with a minimum 85% average, and pass pre-state examination. Please see rule and regulations for further details.
Students must pay a licensing and examination fee of $105 in the form of a money order or bank draft, payable to the Mississippi State Board of Barbering. The state examination consists of practical skills and 2 written examinations, state law test, a National Barbering academic examination.